La Contrée »

The novice’s section for Contrée

Elementary principles

To play “Contrée”, all you need is a deck of 32 playing cards : one can easily recognize a player of “Contrée” for wherever he stands, he always has one within reach!!! “Contrée” is a 4-player game, 2 in each team. (For purists: there exist rules to play “Contrée” at 3 or even 2, but they're far less interesting …). Both team mates take their seats one in front of the other around the table. The game is played in the inverse direction of the hands of a clock. The way to deal cards will be examined in detail later: nevertheless, you have to know that the first player is the one who is at the dealer's right. It's he who will first have the deal.

What appears generally the toughest to novices is the order of cards, which is, I have to admit it, very particular! Anyway, some simple rules and you'll know it by heart quickly…

First, you have to know that at each hand (that is each time cards are dealt), a colour is chosen (at the end of a bidding system that'll be described later) to be the trump. Beyond that point, we'll then distinguish "normal" colours from the trump's one. The team that chosed the trump is called the attacker and the other one is the defense.

Order and value of cards

Let's begin with the "normal" colours: the ace is the strongest card and is worth eleven points ; the ten follows it (well … how strange this idea is, isn’t it?) and is worth ten points (easy to remember: 10 = 10 points!) ; then comes what we could call the standard order to complete the list: in descending order, the King is worth 4 points, the Queen 3 points, The Jack 2 points, the 9, the 8 and the 7 aren’t worth a penny (but the 9 is stronger than the 8 which is stronger than the 7 all the same). The first thing to do when learning “Contrée” is at stake is to swallow this order slowly so that you can digest this little oddness …

Here you are, you succeeded in learning the order? Then I've got some news for you: a good piece of news, and, well, a bad one … Let's start with the good one: I'm very proud of you!!!!! Now, inevitably, the bad one: the order for the trump's colour is different from the order we've just seen for "normal" colours!!! Wait don’t go! It's different, right, but it's slightly different: nothing changes (order and value) except for the Jack and the 9: the Jack trump takes the leading of the group and is worth 20 points (which is why it's sometimes called the Twenty), directly followed by the 9 (we're still in the trump's colour, don’t forget it!) with 14 points (and this explains why it's so often called the Fourteen).

I bet you would really appreciate a summary table … Alright, here it is:
Order and value of "normal" cards Order and value of trumps
Ace 11 points Jack (or Twenty) 20 points
10 10 points 9 (or Fourteen) 14 points
King 4 points Ace 11 points
Queen 3 points 10 10 points
Jack 2 points King 4 points
9 0 point Queen 3 points
8 0 point 8 0 point
7 0 point 7 0 point

Once you've learned this table, your toughest work as a novice is over!!! Waow, party tonight! Well, no! Wait a little bit before opening the Champagne, there are still some notions to learn … You can from now on notice that the sum of the values of the cards is worth 3*30+1*62=152 ; nevertheless, the actual sum is worth 162 for the last ten.

How to take a trick

If an order exists, it's simply because during a trick (ie a round, where each player lays a card on the table in a predetermined order …), the player who takes the abovementionned trick is the one who lays the strongest card in the colour that has been asked (ie the colour of the first card laid at the beginning of this trick) ; the goal of a hand is therefore clear: the more tricks, the merrier … (at least to make the maximum of points). The player that has, at a peculiar moment, laid the strongest card of the trick is called master.

Nevertheless, the trump has its own role: whenever a player doesn’t hold any card of the colour that's currently played, he has (under certain circumstances that will be given when our friends "the beloters" will have joined us) to lay a trump's card (one says he is cutting), which makes him master insofar as noone before him cut or laid a trump stronger than his trump. If he doesn’t hold any trump either, he can (and in practice, he has to) discard himself of a card. The trump's turns take place exactly the same way (just one difference: one can’t cut trump!). A very important rule for trumps: whenever the case occurs (ie would it be to overcut or to lay a trump in a trump's turn), one has, if he can, to rise at trump (ie to lay a stronger trump than the strongest already laid). We'll see in a while with our friends "the beloters" which rule to follow if one doesn’t hold a stronger trump.

The master at the end of the trick takes it and has the deal, ie he's the first one to lay a card at the following trick.

The last trick is worth 10 points: it's hence very important to take it.

La Contrée »

Pour les grands débutants (la contrée)

Principes élémentaires

La contrée se joue avec un jeu de 32 cartes normal : on reconnaît les vrais amateurs de contrée à ce qu'ils en ont toujours un à portée de main… !!!! (private joke !). On y joue à 4, par équipe de 2. (Il existe des règles de contrée pour 3 et pour 2, mais qui sont nettement moins intéressantes…). Les deux coéquipiers se placent l’un en face de l’autre à la table de jeu. On joue dans le sens inverse des aiguilles d’une montre. Nous aborderons la distribution des cartes en détail plus loin : il vous faut cependant déjà savoir que le premier joueur est celui qui est à droite du donneur. C'est lui qui aura le premier la main.

Ce qui apparaît souvent le plus dur aux débutants est l’ordre des cartes, qui, il faut le reconnaître, est un peu particulier ! Mais quelques règles simples permettent de le retenir assez vite…

Pour commencer, il faut savoir qu'à chaque manche (ie à chaque distribution), une couleur est choisie (au terme d’un système d’enchères comme étant l’atout. On distinguera donc les couleurs dites "normales" de l’atout. L’équipe qui a choisi la couleur d’atout est dite preneuse ou attaquante, l’autre est à la défense.

Ordre et valeur des cartes

Commençons par voir l’ordre des cartes normales : l’As est la plus forte carte et vaut onze points ; le 10 le suit immédiatement (oui, je sais, c'est bizarre comme idée…) avec une valeur de dix points (voilà un bon moyen de le retenir : 10=10 pts !) ; après, l’ordre que l’on peut qualifier de classique complète la série : dans l’ordre d’importance décroissante, le Roi vaut 4 points, la Dame vaut 3 points, le Valet vaut 2 points, le 9, le 8 et le 7 sont de valeurs nulles (mais le 9 l’emporte sur le 8 qui l’emporte sur le 7). La première chose pour apprendre la contrée est de bien digérer cette petite bizarrerie…

Ca y est, vous avez réussi à retenir cet ordre ? J’ai deux nouvelles : l’une bonne, l’autre mauvaise… Commençons par la bonne : je suis très fier de vous !!!!! Puis, forcément, la mauvaise : l’ordre de l’atout est différent de l’ordre des cartes "normales" !!! Non, non, non, ne partez pas ! Il est différent certes, mais pas énormément tout de même : tout est pareil (ordre et valeur) sauf pour le Valet et le 9 : le Valet d’atout se place en tête du classement avec 20 points (on l’appelle d’ailleurs parfois le Vingt), et le 9 (toujours à l’Atout) le suit directement avec 14 points (on l’appelle d’ailleurs presque toujours le Quatorze).

Je parie qu'un petit tableau récapitulatif vous ferait énormément plaisir… Soit, en voici donc un :

Ordre et valeur des cartes
Cartes (ordre normal) Valeur (cartes "normales") Cartes (ordre atout) Valeur (atout)
As 11 points Valet (ou Vingt) 20 points
10 10 points 9 (ou Quatorze) 14 points
Roi 4 points As 11 points
Dame 3 points 10 10 points
Valet 2 points Roi 4 points
9 0 point Dame 3 points
8 0 point 8 0 point
7 0 point 7 0 point

Une fois ce tableau appris, votre plus gros travail de débutant est achevé !!! Ca se fête !!! Non, non, attendez un peu avant d’ouvrir le champagne, il reste quand même quelques notions à apprendre… Vous pouvez constater dors et déjà que la somme des points des cartes vaut 3*30+1*62=152 ; la somme des points du jeu vaut cependant 162 à cause du dix de der.

Déroulement d’un pli

Si il existe un ordre des cartes, c'est parce que, lors d’un pli (ie un tour de jeu, où chaque joueur abat une carte dans un ordre déterminé…), le joueur qui remporte le sus-dit pli est celui qui a la carte la plus forte à la couleur demandée (ie la couleur de la première carte jouée lors du pli en cours), le but d’une manche étant évidemment de faire un maximum de plis (pour faire une maximum de points, du moins). Le joueur qui, à un moment donné, a posé la carte la plus forte du pli, est dit maître.

L’atout a cependant un rôle particulier : lorsqu'un joueur n’a pas de carte à la couleur demandée, il doit (dans des conditions qui seront précisées lorsque nos amis beloteurs nous auront rejoints) jouer, s'il en a, une carte d’atout (on dit qu'il coupe), qui le rend maître, dans la mesure où personne avant lui n’a coupé ou joué un atout plus fort que le sien. S'il n’a pas d’atout, il peut (et en pratique, il doit) défausser une carte quelconque. Les tours d’atout se déroulent de la même manière (à la différence qu'on ne peut de fais pas couper l’atout !). Une règle très importante pour l’atout : en toute occasion (ie aussi bien pour surcouper que lors d’un tour d’atout), on doit, s'il on peut, monter à l’atout (ie mettre un atout plus fort que le plus fort posé). Nous verrons avec nos amis beloteurs quelle règle on doit suivre si l’on a pas d’atout plus fort

Le joueur maître à la fin du pli remporte le pli, et a la main, c'est à dire qu'il est le premier à jouer lors du pli suivant.

Le dernier pli (on l’appelle la der) vaut dix points : il est donc très important de le remporter.